The Democratic Town Committee

The Democratic Town Committee is the official organization of the Democratic Party in East Hampton. In accordance with law, the Committee proposes candidates for town offices and collects signatures for the petitions required to enable local state and national candidates to run for office. In our town, it does that and much more. We are the friendly critic and watchdog of our elected officials. And in an election, we work overtime to see that they get elected.

Membership in the Democratic Town Committee is open to all Democrats registered in East Hampton. There are two Committee persons for each of the town’s 19 election districts. We meet once a month to hear from our public officials, catch up on news, formulate policy and take on responsibilities during and between campaigns.

Become a Member of the Democratic Town Committee

  • The Democratic Town Committee is the official organization of the Democratic Party in East
  • We meet the third Wednesday of each month at St. Michael’s Lutheran Church in Amagansett, New York. Meeting begins at 7 pm with refreshments served prior to the meeting. 
  • The Committee proposes candidates for town offices and collects signatures for the petitions required to enable local, state and national candidates to run for office
  • Membership in the committee is open to all persons registered in East Hampton as Democrats.
  • To become a voting member, one must obtain signatures on a petition from 5% of the registered Democrats in one of the 19 East Hampton election districts. There are opportunities to serve in some election districts. Petition forms and information on carrying them may be obtained from Committee Vice-chair Betty Mazur, 631 267-8392 or directly from the Suffolk County Democratic Committee.
  • Membership will afford an opportunity to be directly involved in this year’s campaign. 

Committee Leadership

Cate Rogers, Chairwoman

East Hampton Town Democratic Committee Chair Cate Rogers has been volunteering for the East Hampton community since moving here 18 years ago. She has volunteered with LVIS Fair, Accabonac Protection Committee, Cornell Cooperative Extension Marine Program, The Great Peconic Race and of course the East Hampton Democrats. She was appointed to the Zoning Board of Appeals for multiple terms, serving for a total of 9 years on the ZBA, the majority as Vice Chairwoman. She has been appointed to various town citizen committees and is currently on the Energy Sustainability Committee and volunteers for the town Solarize program.

In 2016, after coordinating the Clinton/Throne-Holst campaign office in East Hampton, Cate was a co-recipient of the Democratic Committee’s Democrat of the Year award. In 2017, she served as the liaison to CD1, and as a member of the Dems’ communications, policy development, and outreach subcommittees. She was Campaign Coordinator during the 2017 “sweep” election. In 2018, she was appointed as a voting member of the East Hampton Democratic Committee and elected Chairwoman by the Committee in June. Cate is a Climate Leader and Mentor trained by Former Vice President Al Gore for The Climate Reality Project and Co-Chair of the Climate Reality Long Island, NY Chapter. She belongs to the Accabonac Protection Committee and is a monthly donor to Springs Food Pantry, the ACLU, Planned Parenthood, NRDC, and the Sierra Club. She is a member of Eleanor’s Legacy.

Betty Mazur, Vice Chair

When Betty Mazur moved to East Hampton after retirement from teaching high school, she brought with her a long history of community and political involvement: college anti-war activist, elected member of the Fort Lee Democratic Party and chair, tenants’ rights organizer, officer of her local teachers’ union, to name a few. She was already a member of the East Hampton Democratic Committee , commuting from N.J. after work to attend meetings during the 80’s when the future of this town seemed doomed to reflect the rapid overdevelopment of western Suffolk. Once here, in the same Amagansett summer home built for her family of four children, she volunteered with the newly-established Retreat, doing Hot Line duty and client advocacy for ten years. Earlier, she served as president of her road association, working to maintain the rural quality of her neighborhood and hamlet. She joined the committee to establish the first Amagansett Historic District on Main Street and later, the second district on Bluff Road. Betty was appointed to be a member of the State study to recognize areas of  scenic significance for East Hampton and she also participated in the Amagansett Corridor Study. Today, she is vice chair of the Democratic party, chair of the Screening Committee and continues to work on her favorite project of voter registration.

Get to Know the Committee Member in Your Election District

Members of the Democratic Town Committee are available to discuss community and town issues and Democratic positions. They are eager to hear your views, obtain your signatures on nominating petitions and ensure that you know when and where to vote. To contact your Committee person, send an e-mail to

Here is a list of members by Election District:

  1. Jeanne Frankl, Barbara Layton
  2. Andrew Malone, Suzanne McNear
  3. Arthur Schrif, David Hillman
  4. Zach Cohen, Loring Bolger
  5. Jim Lubetkin, Ira Barocas
  6. Larry Smith
  7. Susan McGraw Keber, David Gruber
  8. Jerry Mulligan, Mary Busch.
  9. Francis Bock, Annemarie McCoy
  10. Sally Richardson, Andrew Harris
  11. Vicky Blatt, Andrew Strong
  12. Betty Mazur (Vice-chair), Anna Skrenta
  13. Afton DiSunno, Linda James
  14. J.B. Dos Santos, Viral Patel
  15. Cate Rogers, Christopher Kelley
  16. Marilyn Van Scoyac, Tim Garneau
  17. Bette Smith, Pam Bicket
  18. Edna Steck, Ben Dollinger
  19. Connie Cortese, Laura Michaels